The Better Staff Recommends #8: STEIFF’s Paddington Bear!

For over 55 years, British-born writer Michael Bond has been entertaining children and families all over the world with his wildly imaginative stories of Paddington Bear – everyone’s favourite marmalade-loving, duffel-coated, wellington-booted bear from Darkest Peru. Over time, this pint-sized troublemaker has gone on to capture the hearts of millions throughout the world, delighting all with his chaotic misadventures and daily mischief.

This month, our Sunshine Superstar, Swee Ling, explains why she fell instantly in love with STEIFF’s Paddington Bear the second she laid eyes on it.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

When I first found Steiff’s Paddington Bear on the internet, never in a million years would I imagine it appearing  at the very place that I work at! I knew that there were only 4000 pieces available worldwide but all were exclusive only to the U.S. and U.K… so you can imagine my surprise when I heard that it had found its way into The Better Toy Store!

It was personally quite a surreal dream come true. I grew up surrounded by all things Paddington; and together with my mom, we have been collecting  his memorabilia for more than a decade. I have been looking far and wide for the perfect heirloom piece to complete our collection, and it is no question that Steiff’s rendition of him is the perfect centrepiece.

To this day, I still can’t quite believe just how lucky I got with this Steiff buy. It is true what they say… ordinary things do become extraordinary when Paddington is involved.

Swee Ling

Leave a Reply

